A plaque remaining from the Big Apple Night Club at West 135th Street and Seventh Avenue in Harlem.

Above, a 1934 plaque from the Big Apple Night Club at West 135th Street and Seventh Avenue in Harlem. Discarded as trash in 2006. Now a Popeye's fast food restaurant on Google Maps.

Recent entries:
“The system isn’t broken. It’s fixed” (9/21)
Entry in progress—BP (9/21)
“Corporations are not people. Money is not free speech” (9/21)
“If bread goes bad, we throw it away, If bananas go bad, we make bread out of them” (9/21)
“Money is not free speech. Corporations are not people” (9/21)
More new entries...

A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z


Entry from October 03, 2020
“No grain, no pain”

"No grain, no pain” (also “No pain, no grain,” a pun on the exercise adage of “No pain, no gain”) is a food saying that has been printed on many images. Gluten, a protein found in wheat, rye, barley and oats, damages the small intestine and causes pain for many people, especially those with celiac disease.

Two book titles popularized “no grain, no pain”—No Grain, No Pain: How to thrive not just survive living gluten-free (2000) by Shirley Hartung and No Grain, No Pain: A 30-day diet for eliminating the root cause of chronic pain (2016) by Dr. Peter Osborne.

“No pain, no grain” has been cited in print since at least 1993, but it often means that there is a lot of pain in producing grain (and bread). This is a different meaning than “no grain, no pain.”


8 August 1993, Indianapolis (IN) Star, “These slogans for license tags are too snide to evoke pride” by Dick Cady, pg. B1:
There’s also an agricultural faction. They’ve proposed “As a Hog Does Side Saddle,” “No Pain, No Grain,” “Jurassic Pork,” and one that appears to have packinghouse support, “Hog In Armor.”

Google Groups: rec.crafts.brewing
Lager fermentation (warm or cold)
fram...@skitzo.dseg.ti.com
Dec 6, 1993, 4:35:09 PM
(...)
> John Shepardson | No pain, no grain.

OCLC WorldCat record
No grain, no pain.
Author: S Leonard Affiliation: Mayday Healthcare Trust, Croydon.
Edition/Format: Article Article : English
Publication: Nursing times, 1999 Feb 24-Mar 2; 95(8): 69-70

27 May 1999, Los Angeles (CA) Times, “No Pain, No Grain; Bakeries keep European traditions from falling flat” by Karen Newell, pg. 6:
Bread may be the staff of life, but it began as a baking blunder by an inept caveman. Historians say a prehistoric chef probably left grain gruel on the fire too long, producing the world’s first flat bread.

OCLC WorldCat record
No grain, no pain : how to thrive not just survive living gluten-free
Author: Shirley Hartung
Publisher: Kitchener, Ont. : Edible Options, ©2000.
Edition/Format: Print book : English

10 October 2000, The Record (Kitchener, ON), “Recipes, they’ve got recipes...; Book nourishes those with celiac disease” by Valeria Hill, pg. C5:
For anyone suffering from celiac disease, eating a balanced diet can be downright painful, but local cookbook author Shirley Hartung hopes her new book will offer help and hope.

“It’s called No Grain No Pain: How to Thrive Not Just Survive Living Gluten-free,” she said. “It took two years to write. . . . It was a very big project, a lot of people were involved.”

Her self-published book ($15.95) includes not just recipes, but stories from people living with celiac disease, a serious medical condition in which gluten, a protein found in wheat, rye, barley and oats, damages the small intestine. That, in turn, inhibits the body’s absorption of protein, fat, carbohydrates, vitamins and minerals.

Twitter
Eric Springer
@impatientwriter
No pain, no grain. No grain, no breakfast. No breakfast, no bacon. Mmm. Bacon.
12:47 PM · Jan 6, 2009·Twitter Web Client

Twitter
Nigel VH
@nigelvh
No pain, no grain!
5:57 PM · Feb 20, 2009·Twitter SMS

Twitter
Shirley Hartung
@edibletweets
Just delivered an order of my cookbooks to a company that bakes gluten-free food.They ordered copies of my book No Grain No Pain.
10:37 PM · May 1, 2009·Twitter Web Client

Twitter
Gianna Gretial
@GiannaTeach
As they say in the wheat fields....No pain, no grain!  (okay that was random - I need to rest my weary brain!)
9:27 PM · Jun 28, 2009·Twitter Web Client

Twitter
GlutenFreeQuiz
@GlutenFreeQuiz
No pain, no grain one year after diagnosis of gluten intolerance - Great Falls Tribune http://bit.ly/v2U2u #glutenfree
7:11 AM · Oct 21, 2009·twitterfeed

OCLC WorldCat record
No grain, no pain : a 30-day diet for eliminating the root cause of chronic pain
Author: Peter Osborne; Olivia Bell Buehl
Publisher: New York : Touchstone, [2016].
Edition/Format: Print book : English : First Touchstone hardcover edition
Summary:
“In the tradition of Wheat Belly and Grain Brain; No Grain, No Pain demonstrates the proven link between a gluten-heavy diet and chronic pain and discomfort--and offers a groundbreaking, 30-day, grain-free diet plan to help you heal yourself from the inside out. More than 100 million Americans suffer from chronic pain according to an Institute of Medicine report released in 2011. For many, chronic pain is part of an autoimmune disease, but all too often doctors turn to the same solution: painkilling drugs. But all of this medication simply isn’t helping, and as Dr. Peter Osborne, the leading authority on gluten sensitivity and food allergies has found, the real solution often lies in what you eat. In No Grain, No Pain, Dr. Osborne shows how grains wreak havoc on the body by causing tissue inflammation, creating vitamin and/or mineral deficiencies, and triggering an autoimmune response that causes the body to attack itself. But he also offers practical steps to find relief. Using his drug-free, easy-to-implement plan, you will be able to eliminate all sources of gluten and gluten-like substances, experience significant improvement in fifteen days, and eliminate pain within thirty days. No Grain, No Pain is the first book to identify diet--specifically, grain--as a leading cause of chronic suffering, and provides you with the knowledge you need to improve your health. Based on extensive research and examples culled from thousands of his satisfied patients, Dr. Osborne recommends changing your diet to achieve the relief that millions of Americans have been seeking once and for all, leading to a healthier, happier life”

Twitter
Helen Cook
@helen_c_cook
Replying to @Kathbum
All grains have a form of gluten. I have just discovered this reading No Grain No Pain by Dr Peter Osborne. Our bodies don’t need grains and are often much healthier without.
2:59 PM · Sep 29, 2020·Twitter for iPhone

Posted by Barry Popik
New York CityFood/Drink • Saturday, October 03, 2020 • Permalink